High Alpine Hut Network



Jason Bhattacharya: drums, percussion and electric piano. Robin Hatch: electric piano. Tobin Hopwood: guitar. Benjamin Pullia: synthesizers and percussion. Lauren Runions: percussion. Joseph Shabason: tenor saxophone. Christopher Shannon: bass, electric piano, synthesizers, and percussion. Nathan Vanderwielen: percussion and synthesizers. Produced and mixed by Christopher Shannon at Aytche and The Oscillitarium. Engineered by Christopher Shannon and Nathan Vanderwielen. Mastered by Jeff McMurrich & Kevin McPhee. Photograph by Alex Carre.


When Christopher Shannon (of bands Bart and Possum) and Benjamin Pullia started High Alpine Hut Network, the intention was to explore cosmic extensions of house music. However with the addition of Jason Bhattacharya on drums, HAHN's recording sessions rapidly became a site of experimentation where members would generate raw material through structured improvisation and sheer spontaneity. Through this process, the project eventually evolved into a collaborative network of artists, each intent on bending sonic barriers in their own unique direction. On their debut, 727 / 16, High Alpine Hut Network swerves toward molten jazz fusion with heavy contributions from a number of noteworthy collaborators. Robin Hatch—hailed by the Guardian as “a unique talent, and one developing a new grammar for the piano” performs on electric piano. Guitarist Tobin Hopwood—bandmate to Shannon in psych-prog quintet Possum—unleashes wild, strident shred while saxophonist Joseph Shabason, best known for his lush, ambient solo recordings, provides some of his most serrated horn playing yet, cutting through the web of synth, percussion and gnarled guitar. Shannon's production is downright greasy, enveloping the urgency of these performances in dark, viscous sonics that might recall Teo Macero's studio trickery or Lee “Scratch” Perry's fried circuits.